Hermit Crabs

I think hermit crabs are amazing creatures. Hermit crabs’ eyes are on stalks. They have six legs, two claws, and one of those claws is really big. They carry their home on their back. They can carry a shell that weighs as much as they do or more. Hermit crabs carry their shell on their back all the time to protect themselves from predators like seagulls. Whenever a hermit crab feels under attack, they withdraw into their shell and block the entrance with their big claw. Whenever they start to grow, they need to change to a bigger shell. It is interesting that sometimes hermit crabs get in line from biggest to smallest and change shells. This is called a shell exchange.  If land hermit crabs go into water, they can’t breath. Sea hermit crabs can breath underwater, and the cool thing is that they get oxygen from the water. There are 15 species of land hermit crabs, but 785 species of sea hermit crabs. Do you own a hermit crab or have you ever touched one?

 

hermit-crab-shell-seaside-closeup-spiral-ocean-shore-49223442

 

2 thoughts on “Hermit Crabs

  1. Dear Bianca,
    I agree with you that hermit crabs are amazing creatures.I can’t imagine carrying around your home on your back. I’ve seen the documentary that shows the hermit crabs exchanging their homes. What amazes you the most?

    Happy trails,
    Mrs. Fordyce

  2. Dear Bianca,
    Thanks for telling me a lot. I really enjoy reaching out to your blog and seeing new posts pop up every day. When ever I need a blog to comment on I know your blog will always be filled with creative and interesting ideas. This time you made a post about Hermit Crabs. Sometimes during the Summer my family and I take walk to the beach shore while the tide is out. I see star fish and Hermit crabs and all sorts of mysterious creatures that I’ve never seen by going down to the tide with my family. Where have you seen Hermit Crabs? What made you interested in making a post about Hermit Crabs. Your other post was about Blow Fish which was another Marine Story of the ocean. Your posts are always the best!
    See Ya,
    Katie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *